Facebook is blurting out your private information

The Social NetworkFacebook has just released it’s new ‘socialization’ features in the form of API’s and widgets to it calls to be it’s “trusted partners”

I agree that Facebook is doing a mighty well job in connecting the web and making it more personalized for most people but then maybe this step is a bit too hasty for them. Sure, you have the option to keep your stuff private, but then Facebook has, by default, already checked the ‘instant personalization’ box for you. Meaning the moment you land into one of their “trusted partners” sites, your personal information has just been given away.

For some people, that’s a good thing. But then when most Facebook users are asked if they were for it or against it, we hear a resounding ‘no’. Gee, maybe because that’s why we call it ‘personal data’

For you to be able to turn off this ‘instant personalization’ feature, you have to do two things:

  1. Go to Privacy Settings which is under the Profile link then Applications and Websites and un-check the box at the bottom to remove Instant Personalization
  2. Click on the links to Yelp, Pandora and Docs.om on Facebook and click on “Block Application”

As such, some people are left quite disappointed with Facebook in their decision to personalize the web in this way. But hey, we won’t know for certain if this will benefit us in the long run or not. For me as an SEO specialist, my job is just to keep an eye on how to use social media and social networks to give my clients the best targeted traffic around wherever, whenever.

Facebook has just released it’s new ‘socialization’ features in the form of API’s and widgets to it calls to be it’s “trusted partners”

I agree that Facebook is doing a mighty well job in connecting the web and making it more personalized for most people but then maybe this step is a bit too hasty for them. Sure, you have the option to keep your stuff private, but then Facebook has, by default, already checked the ‘instant personalization’ box for you. Meaning the moment you land into one of their “trusted partners” sites, your personal information has just been given away.

For some people, that’s a good thing. But then when most Facebook users are asked if they were for it or against it, we hear a resounding ‘no’. Gee, maybe because that’s why we call it ‘personal data’

For you to be able to turn off this ‘instant personalization’ feature, you have to do two things:

  1. 1. Go to privacy settings which is under the profile link then Applications and Websites and uncheck the box at the bottom to remove Instant Personalization
  2. 2. Click on the links to Yelp, Pandora and Docs.om on Facebook and click on “Block Application”

And as such, some people are left quite disappointed with Facebook in their decision personalize the web in this way. But then, hey, we won’t know for certain if this will benefit us in the long run or not. For me as an SEO specialist, my job is just to keep an eye on how to use social media and social networks to give my clients the best targeted traffic around wherever, whenever.

Social Network News, , , , , , ,

About Sean

is a Filipino motivational speaker and a Leadership Speaker in the Philippines. He is the head honcho and editor-in-chief of SEO Hacker. He does SEO Services for companies in the Philippines and Abroad. Connect with him at Facebook, LinkedIn or Twitter. Check out his new project, Aquascape Philippines